Marijuana is all over the news currently, as more and more states legalize the drug for recreational use. After the most recent midterm election, marijuana is legal to some degree in 33 states, but recreational use is still only legal for recreational use in 10.
Due to the somewhat relaxed way people in America are starting to view this particular drug, you may have questions about the legality in your state. Texas maintains the stance that marijuana use, possession and/or sale is illegal. How serious are the penalties for marijuana crimes in Texas? Could you be facing felony charges?
Texas marijuana laws
Texas takes this drug seriously, as possessing a small amount can land you in big trouble. Texas also breaks down the charges for possession into specific categories:
- Two ounces or less: Class B misdemeanor
- Between two and four ounces: Class A misdemeanor
- Between four ounces and five pounds: state jail felony
- Between five pounds and 50 pounds: Third degree felony
- Between 50 pounds and 2,000 pounds: Second degree felony
- More than 2,000 pounds: Between 5 and 99 years in jail, up to a $50,000 fine
Effects of a misdemeanor or felony on your record
Carrying either a misdemeanor or felony on your criminal record can do a lot of damage. Both of these charges will appear on a background check. It can be difficult to find desired employment, as most employers run background checks. Similarly, many landlords will run background checks on their tenants before letting them live in the building, so one could have trouble finding a place to live.
Texas takes drug possession seriously and the consequences for an offense can be severe. You may find that knowing the penalties is beneficial.