There is a difference between simple robbery charges and those related to aggravated robbery. A person must have committed the act of theft, and while doing so, knowingly, intentionally or recklessly caused bodily injury or harm to another person to be charged with aggravated robbery in Texas. Prosecutors can also prove robbery charges by establishing beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant threatened or caused the victim to fear that bodily injury or death was imminent.
A defendant may also be convicted of an aggravated offense if prosecutors can show that the defendant either threatened to or used a deadly weapon in the commission of their crime. If a robbery victim were 65 years old or older, mentally, physically or developmentally disabled, then the charges would also be upgraded to aggravated ones.
There are defense strategies that defendants can utilize in fighting robbery charges. They can show that they had a lack of intent to cause bodily harm or a lack of knowledge that they'd done so. A defendant may produce evidence that no physical harm occurred or show some proof that the victim didn't fear the threat of bodily injury or death.
In Texas, robbery is a second-degree felony with a maximum penalty of incarceration between two to 20 years and fines up to $10,000.
An aggravated robbery is a first-degree felony here in Texas. Any defendant convicted of such a crime could face between five to 99 years in prison. A Corpus Christi judge could also order them to pay a maximum fine of up to $10,000.
As you might imagine, the stakes are high, no matter what type of robbery charges that you're facing here in Texas. A defendant convicted on aggravated robbery charges be sentenced to life in prison if convicted of such an offense. It matters if a criminal defense attorney here in Corpus Christi represents you. It may make the difference between a positive and negative outcome in your case, even with a plea agreement.